Struggles Of A Procrastinator

-Karan Singh Bora, 1st Year, EE


I currently have three assignments pending along with a class test tomorrow and here I am enjoying my sandwich and meticulously planning: how to categorically prioritize my work and still have time to watch the next episode of Westworld before its time for my lecture. I finish eating, pour myself a glass of orange juice and sit down to write my schedule for the next 4 hours. Yes, I only have 4 hours until the deadline for the assignments and the test because I consider myself an avid procrastinator.

Suddenly I had a brilliant idea. Why don’t I make this schedule on the cool daily planner app I downloaded yesterday?



Strike 1.

What I didn’t realize is that Adrien Brody was right when he said that you’d be surprised how difficult it is to relinquish your phone. I ended up watching the latest episode of Son of Abish and about 45 minutes later put down my phone in frustration. I wasn’t annoyed because I had wasted another hour but because the battery had died. After this, I finally began my first assignment, which went smoothly for about half an hour when I got stuck on a question and fired up the laptop to google the concept.


 

Strike 2.

I soon found myself browsing memes and more useless stuff including, of course, the clichéd cat videos. I stood up and went to the balcony to get some fresh air to clear my cluttered senses and concentrate. And soon my thoughts wandered to the dreadful ‘what ifs.’ What if I read my novel for ‘some time’ and then resume the assignments. The reading would help me focus. I would still have about an hour and a half left for the assignments, and I can just revise the class notes for the test. I decided that it was a great plan and went inside pleased with myself.

procrastination-meme


 

Strikeout.

I had my class at 12, and when I shifted my gaze from the captivating pages of the book to the clock, it was 11:38. Entering panic mode. The metaphorical bulb of my mind is now glowing crimson with the alarm blaring. I somehow copy the remaining assignments from the class group and pray that my partner has studied for the test. I quickly gather my things and dash out of my room towards campus.

I reach at 12:10 P.M. and the professor asks for an explanation. Sir, the traffic is awful this time of day. I rush to my seat for the test.

I am glad he doesn’t know I basically live at spitting distance from campus.

 

6360475611919248881600891247_image


Leave a comment