A Letter To My 16-Year-Old Self

-Anushka Sharma, 1st Year, MAM


To my 16-Year-Old Self,

I know it feels like time travel. I am writing this letter to you because I feel a strong urge to do so. I know this will not change the past, but at least it will alleviate the burden of realizations from my shoulders.

 I know you’re in eleventh grade now and you feel like this is the year that’s going to either make you or break you. You have distanced yourself from social media and have refrained from spending too much time on any other means of entertainment, even memes, yes. This year will turn out to be one of the most formative years of your life, but still, it’s not the end. Relax, step back, take a deep breath and have a Mc Veggie.

This year you’ll have to master the skill of juggling between your school and your coaching institute, and you’ll have to learn how to make perfect excuses for not submitting your assignments on time. You’ll have to keep an optimistic mindset despite your disappointing scores in your practice exams, and you’ll have to learn the art of not crying even though you’re losing your zeal to move forward.



Why am I saying this? Why is it so easy for me to say this? 
It is because I was you once. I have gone through what you will go through now, and today, I realize that all along I worried too much and forgot to live a little too much.


Believe me when I say that you’ll get through this with a smile on your face. Only if you’ll just let go of all those unnecessary thoughts that keep you awake at 3 A.M. in the middle of the night. With a book resting on your lap with pages that have been flipped through so many times, it’s hard to prevent them from falling apart, just like you.

Much love and all the best!

Your 18-Year-Old Self


Leave a comment